BBK Team

Staff

Executive Director:  Jamie Grissom joined the Books Between Kids team as our first Executive Director and she is eager to help Books Between Kids extend its reach to even more children and schools in Houston.   Contact Jamie if you would like more information about corporate or community partnerships, or to make a monetary donation.  She can be reached at jamie@booksbetweenkids.org or by phone at 832-831-1402.

Program Coordinator:  Trent Hale is a graduate student with the School of Library & Information Science at Texas Woman’s University and is passionate about promoting literacy in Houston. Contact Trent if you would like more information about donating books, coordinating a book drive, or volunteering with us.  He can be contacted at trent@booksbetweenkids.org or by phone at 832-831-1402.

Board of Directors 2016-2017

Books Between Kids strives to maintain a Board of Directors with diverse experiences, perspectives, and skills. The Board of Directors is charged with planning and monitoring programs and services, representing us to the public and providing financial and legal/ethical oversight.

President: Katie Morgan has worked in HISD as an elementary teacher, reading specialist and dyslexia therapist. She currently spends her days with her twin three-year-olds but remains passionate about literacy development and reading education. She has been involved with Books Between Kids since its conception. She can be contacted at katie@booksbetweenkids.org.

Vice President: Ashley Hanna is an attorney and mother of two young children. She and her husband are lifelong Houstonians and are involved with a number of local charitable organizations. She can be contacted at ashley@booksbetweenkids.org

Secretary:  Kate Robertson is a lifelong learner and educator with 30 years of experience in teaching and educational leadership. She tutors reading at Briarmeadow Charter School and volunteers with various community organizations. Kate and her husband have one teenage son. She can be contacted at kate@booksbetweenkids.org.

Treasurer:  Sandra Ahlhorn is a Co-Founder of Books Between Kids.  Sandra is an active volunteer in her child’s school and is Co-Owner of Speedy Printing – W. Alabama. She can be contacted at sandra@booksbetweenkids.org

Board Member:  Ann Guerra has been a Montessori teacher for 24 years. She is an active member of the PTO at her daughter’s school. She can be contacted at ann@booksbetweenkids.org.

Board Member:  Amy Barnes is a Co-Founder of Books Between Kids.  Amy is a lifelong bibliophile and an active volunteer in the schools her three children attend. She can be contacted at amy@booksbetweenkids.org.

Board Member:  Suzanne Boue has spent her career in higher education and non-profits and is an active volunteer for several community organizations. She believes books are an integral part of any life and enjoys reading with her two children. She can be reached at suzanne@booksbetweenkids.org

Board Member: Cynthia Gonzalez has been in education for 31 years, 27 of them in HISD. She is an active volunteer in her church and enjoys spending time reading/sewing/crafting. She can be contacted at cynthia@booksbetweenkids.org.

Board Member: Lisa Gonzalez is a practicing Criminal Defense Attorney and a mother to one toddler. When not practicing law, Lisa is either working on one of her 3 Houston Live Stock Show and Rodeo Committees or working with the Fort Bend County Women’s Bar Association, which she is a founding member. She can be contacted at lisa@booksbetweenkids.org.

Board Member: Ashley Flack is a former career fundraiser who now focuses on her four young children and community involvement. She is an active volunteer in her children’s schools, enthusiastic library volunteer, and passionate class reader. She is dedicated to spreading literacy to other Houston children and believes that a love of books, literacy, and learning can change and enhance all lives.

Coordinators 2016-2017

Communications Coordinator:  Nguyet Vo works in the fields of information technology and graphic design. She volunteers in her children’s schools and writes a food blog. For BBK, Nguyet manages the website.  She can be contacted at nguyet@booksbetweenkids.org